Injuries suck

I haven’t written in awhile because I have had a lot going on.  My bestie and coworker Laura moved to Vancouver and it has been a hard adjustment for me.  (Here I am making it about me… obviously it was a harder adjustment for her… but let’s focus on me for a bit).  We had a lot of celebrations for her departure, many of which included lunches out.  Let’s just say my diet fell to the wayside quite a bit.  Now I am feeling chubby and find it really hard to get back onto it. 

I have still been doing my usual workouts.  Luckily those never seem to fall away… so I am glad about that.  When my life gets busier and my workout schedule is affected I manage to make adjustments so I still get them all in.  I had another PR last night in my front squat- 115 lbs.  Up another 5 lbs.  I feel like I could have gone even higher however I suffered a sun burn over the past weekend and holding the rough 45 pound bar against my burnt chest was painful to say the least.

Last week I strained a muscle in my left arm and was forced to…ugh….rest.  James tortured me, I mean, iced my arm for me and I had to do no lifting for 48-72 hours which was awful.  Last night was my first class back where I was going to up my weight and it didn’t go as planned.  I worked on pull ups as my skill and managed to get 3 in a row!  but then when we did the workout, which was a 12 min AMRAP of 5 push press, 7 burpees, and 9 front squats, I got through one round and had to quit.  I felt that same pain in my arm again.  I only used 45 lbs too.  so I guess I still need to take it easy. 

Today is a rest day….

Or in my world a day off so I can take C to dance class.  Otherwise I am sure I would have found a way to make it in.  But Tuesday’s I don’t work out. 

I also have to take it easy this week because on sunday I am running the Tough Mudder.  Something I am still wondering why I agreed to do…. however, I am running with the greatest group of girls you could have as a team.

wish me luck. 

One thought on “Injuries suck

  1. I miss you too friend. It has been a hard adjustment for me, but I feel like it must be harder for you because you’re sitting in our offices where we had our chair to chair chats every morning. I miss you a lot. You & James will just have to come visit us out here.

    I know what you mean about a rest day being where you sit at home and think about working out. That’s how I’m feeling today. I’m so drained but I see people running by and it makes me long for it. Sigh.

    Good luck at Tough Mudder!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

