Monday’s “Murph” Workout

Yesterday was Memorial Day in the US and after doing some research (I love the internet!) I learned about the origin’s of the “Murph” workout. I also learned that many CF locations do this WOD on Memorial Day.

The WOD was named Murph in memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y. who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005.

This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and is performed by Crossfitters in his memory.

The WOD consists of:

1 mile run
100 pull ups
200 push ups
300 squats
1 mile run

I have done this WOD three times now. I haven’t ever done it in full on my own, I have done it as part of a partner workout. Last night was the same, we did it in teams. I love team workouts because your team pushes you and you won’t give up because you are all working together.

A positive about this was that I did both the 1 mile runs in total and did not have problems with my knee. The second one bothered me at the last bit of it but I pulled through and it is not sore today. Bonus.

Today is normally my rest day but I am itching to do something. I had planned to do a workout at the playground when C is at her dance class but now it is a very rainy gloomy day so I don’t know if that will happen. I might try one of the million ab workouts I have seen on Pinterest instead when I get home. I love Pinterest.

So I will leave with this which will properly describe how I am feeling today.

imagesCARF54WU

Leave a Reply

