Beware of Kalsu

Last night was one of the toughest workouts I have ever done at Crossfit. It was the dreaded “Kalsu” wod. I looked it up and many discussion forums and crossfitters call it the hardest wod, and it is know as the dreaded Kalsu. I understand why.

“Kalsu”
EMOTM (every minute on the minute)
5 burpees
the rest of the minute is thrusters

you keep going until you hit 100 thrusters

It’s NOT easy. Some rounds I was just tired from the 5 burpees that I couldn’t get any thrusters done. I thought I would never finish. I almost puked once. I thought about quitting twice. The girl behind me kept saying I can’t do this, I’m gonna quit. So I told her no you can’t quit. Keep going. Well how could I quit after that. So I pushed through.

I defintely scaled my workout. Prescribed was 95 lbs. I did 55 to start, and dropped to 45 and then after about halfway down to 35 lbs. Also, I had to drop to 3 burpees after the 10th minute/round.

But I finished and finished in 24 minutes. This was one of those collapse on the floor after you are done wods. crazy. but yet it feels SO good to be done.

Needless to say I am sore today, and am opting to make today a rest day. My sister and her bf are coming for a visit tomorrow night. She is going to come to crossfit with me. I am excited for her to meet my other family.

Have a good day- it’s Friday junior after all!!

What is the hardest workout you have ever done?

What do you do to keep going and not quit?

Leave a Reply

