A case of the Mondays

Today I woke up with a terrible case of the Mondays. I didn’t want to get up. Sometimes having such a fabulous weekend can work against you on a Monday morning. It didn’t help that today was a very dreary rainy day.

I had issues with my hair dryer and I think it was taking its final breaths. It’s had a good long life and I think it’s time to let it go. This meant a lunchtime trip on the rain to get a new one.

I have to just take us back now to last nights dinner. James made homemade turkey burgers without a recipe. I made a mango slaw and an avocado mayo as toppings. We had that with fresh asparagus we picked up at a local shop and I made baked tomatoes with bocconcini and bread crumbs. We had the burgers with roasted red peppers on these cool pitas I found that had rosemary in them. They were shaped like the number 8 and just folded right in half. Really cool. Anyway check this meal out.

20130610-205613.jpg

After work was CrossFit (as always on a Monday) and it was a good wod. The strength work was working on our overhead squats. My knees and lower back do not allow me to do that lift. Ever. Which sucks because I think it’s a really awesome lift. I worked on my 3 rep max of my strict press. I got 67lbs. I was pretty pumped about it since my 1 rep max has been 70lbs. Now I want to do the lift again and find my new one rep max.

Lifting is always a cure for the Mondays!!

Wod
3 rounds
400 m row
20 kettle bell swings
30 sit ups
40 squats

It was one of those ones that doesn’t look bad but is a real ass kicker.

I made a yummy dinner of fish tacos. I used up the mango slaw, added black beans and avocado to some steamed tilapia and this was the finished product.

20130610-210040.jpg

Here’s to the end of Monday and onto the rest of the week!

Do you suffer from the Mondays?

What is your favourite lift?

3 thoughts on “A case of the Mondays

Leave a Reply

