Rest rest and more rest

Well today I did not have the best day (so far). I had a follow up appointment with my chiropractor about my hip pain. It’s not gotten any better despite my attempts at “taking it easy”. Turns out that my upper body workouts may not be easy enough on the hip. Also with stairs and walking as much as I do and being on my feet so much, it doesn’t help anything. I left her office pretty discouraged because I got a stern talking mixed with a bit of a wake up call to actually take it easy. I have a REALLY hard time with that. I was quite upset.

So I am going to listen. I am going to really try to not do anything. Besides with all that upper body only I wouldn’t want to risk looking like this guy.
6291103492-1360099218-res

The fact that I am even able to joke about it says a lot about my mood improving since I left the chiro office. She treated my and spent a lot of time working on my Psoas muscles. She says I strained my hip joint area pretty good. And the pain I felt during the treatment was no joke. It really sucks.
365173252_wAOU8jB0_c
I need to take it easy and let it heal. Insert panic here. How do I manage my anxiety without my crossfit to focus on? It’s my emotional release. It’s going to be a real challenge for me.

I have been throwing the idea of a cleanse around for quite some time and have never done it because I didn’t want to feel like I was lacking energy because I knew I wouldn’t be able to workout like that. Now I am wondering if this might not be the opportune time to do one? Maybe the challenge of it would give me something else to focus on? I don’t know. If anyone out there has the answers for me I would love to hear them.

For now if you need me I will be on the couch. With an ice pack. And maybe a stress ball?

Thanks for listening.

Have you ever done a cleanse? Any recommendations or suggestions?

Any ideas on what else I could do as a stress/ anxiety release?

3 thoughts on “Rest rest and more rest

  1. SUPER important to listen to your body and make sure you are taking the time you need to rest. It’ll make your comeback so much quicker and sweeter.

    I clearly don’t know enough about the situation but what about pool running/walking/swimming?

    • as of right now I am not allowed to do any of it. I need to full on rest it. I wanted to do yoga but she said even the stretching could aggravate it. I see her again on Thursday for a follow up and then will see. I am thinking maybe swimming could be an option. I just need to find a time where it works with my schedule and try and learn to like it. I know that you can relate to that but you are becoming a fish!

Leave a Reply

