Weekend Recap

This has been a really great weekend full of fun with friends and family. Friday after work C and I went to get our nails done. Then we went to a friends house and had dinner and went for ice cream. The kids had a movie pyjama party and K and I hung out on her new deck that she built herself! She’s amazingly handy like that.

C has been under the weather all weekend with a fever off and on. She was a good sport and came with me to CrossFit for a workout. I am still only able to do upper body stuff so my SWOD was to do bench press for 100 reps. When I had to break i went and worked on strict pull ups. It was my first experience bench pressing (properly) and it felt really good. I have only ever done it on the machines at the gym that I didn’t really know how to use. The WOD was Fight Gone Bad. I love that WOD. But we had to modify the movements to all arm movements. It was a good workout and I definitely felt good after. But I can’t help feeling defeated after every workout because I can’t do the heavy lifting or cardio that I am used to doing.

Saturday afternoon was low key because C wasn’t feeling great. I unpacked the boxes that have been sitting in our kitchen since I moved in here in December. It looks much better with all the clutter gone. We had friends over for dinner so I prepared a delicious feast of southwest potato salad and homemade burgers. J made his Fiesta corn. It was such a good meal. We served chips and guac for appetizer and I also made peach cobbler from scratch for dessert. We had a great time catching up and we played Euchre. It was girls against guys and it ended in our favour with this final score.

20130728-220435.jpg
The second game the guys overcame and they took that one.

Today we headed to my parents house to celebrate my niece’s birthday. She is a big One Direction fan and my sister and Mom ordered the most amazing cake for her. She was so thrilled!

20130728-220848.jpg

It was so cute. We all picked audience members that we thought looked like us.

20130728-220948.jpg

It was a great day hanging out with the family. I also got some work done vacuuming my car. With a beer. Because that’s how I roll.

20130728-221338.jpg

I really couldn’t have asked for a better weekend. Except that C wouldn’t have been feeling so off. She hasn’t been herself. And that J had to work and couldn’t come with us today. It’s always so sad on Sunday nights knowing I have to face Monday morning so soon. Lets hope it’s nice to me this week.

Did you do anything fun this weekend?

Leave a Reply

