Back on Track…I Hope

As I have posted many many times in the past 6 weeks, having an injury really really sucks. I really should have tried harder to focus on my nutrition when I wasn’t able to work out as much. I kept saying I would start the next Monday. And I would. And it would last a day or two and then I would get lazy.

Let’s face it. Nutrition is a lot of work. It’s a lot of planning ahead and meal prep. And so so much will power. For people like me anyway. I love food. I get excited about a bag of chips or a plate of nachos. And this summer I have really enjoyed my beer. And all of this combined with my inability to work out has officially caught up with me.

20130909-214102.jpg

Today at CrossFit we started another Nutrition challenge. We have done them before. In fact, I won before. I lost more than 7% body fat! I looked and felt great. People were noticing and I loved it. So today we weighed in on that dreaded machine that spits out that dreaded report. And there it was. Just as I suspected but had hoped I was wrong. I was right back where I started. Up 6lbs and 7% body fat from my last weigh in which was in June.

It sucks. It’s not a good feeling. But what can I do? Start paying attention to my eating and make better choices. I started a food log today so I could track my food for awhile just until I get back to my healthier habits.

Today’s workout was a doozy for those that did it prescribed. For me it was still tough but I didn’t have the burpees.

WOD
18 minutes- AMRAP
5 pull ups (no bands so I did body rows)
5 DB squat cleans (I did hang cleans with a press(
5 burpees onto a plate (I did straight leg sit ups)
Sprint (mines more of a light jog)

I got 13 rounds in and used 12 lb dumbbells.

It felt good to be moving more in the workout than I have been. And my leg felt pretty great and still feels ok tonight. I am definitely getting somewhere with it. Progress…finally.

I did groceries after the gym and then made a healthy dinner of grilled chicken and broccoli slaw with a honey lime vinaigrette . I added some mango and avocado to the slaw. It was actually a really delicious meal.

20130909-214949.jpg
I also did some meal prep for a pretty yummy meal I have up my sleep for Wednesday. Tomorrow night we have a family dinner at the Keg. There will need to be some self control tomorrow night for sure.

Anyway I don’t want to be a diet freak and I don’t want to feel guilt when I eat things I enjoy. But I do need to start making healthier choices for the majority of my meals and snacks to get me back to that place where I felt really good about myself. I miss that place.

Do you avoid the scale or like having numbers to compare to?

How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “Back on Track…I Hope

  1. I avoid the scale big time and just focus on how my clothes are fitting and how I’m feeling physically. I have been toying with the idea of getting a scale, but I’m worried that I will become too fixated on it. For the meantime, I think I’ll just stick with my current method.

    Your dinner looks delish and super healthy, looks like you’re already back on track friend! xo

  2. I usually don’t worry about the scale either. Most times that I weigh myself have been for weigh in’s for these competitions. Other than that I might step on it once in awhile at home but it usually doesn’t bother me. I am the same in that I usually am happy going by how I feel. In this instance I already felt crappy so I knew the scale was going to agree.

    The dinner was very good. which is a good thing since I have it for lunch today too.

    miss you friend xoxox

Leave a Reply

