Dumbbell Workout and a Shake I Actually Liked

I have always been a much bigger fan of lifting with a barbell as opposed to dumbbells.  I honestly think it’s just because I feel bad ass lifting a barbell packed with weights.  Even if it doesn’t add up to all that much.  Our Wednesday wod was all dumbbells and it proved to me that dumbbells can kick my butt big time.

Our strength WOD was working to a 1 rep max on our deadlift.  I know I have set it many many times that I love the deadlift.  But it is actually kind of torture for me right now when that’s our SWOD lift because I am not supposed to pack on the weight right now, and I love to go very heavy and deadlift it.  Before my injury I was up to 185lbs and had my sites on 200lbs.

I couldn’t do that last night… or rather I stopped myself, and thankfully my coach knew I should stop too.  I worked up to 135lbs  and did 2 reps and that’s when he said ok that’s enough, you’re done.  I am thankful he did because I think he could see me looking at the bar, and looking at the pile of plates, and looking back at the bar.  It was tempting to go just a little more, but I stopped.

The WOD was all dumbbell work.

EMOTM (every minute on the minute) for 10 minutes

2 squat cleans

3 front squats

5 push press

manmakers (for the rest of the minute)

I did make some modifications, I did hang cleans and after two rounds of manmakers I switched to sit ups because I could really feel it in my quad and didn’t want to push my luck since I was already doing the front squats and push press with the weight.  I used 12lb dumbbells for this workout.

After I got home I did some more ab work.  I did some Russian twists and then did plank.  I felt really good about my plank time.  I am holding it much longer than I used to.  I think it’s all the planking I did in workouts when I couldn’t do so many of the movements.  I am going to try and do it more often and time myself to see how  I progress.

photo (5)

a couple shameless selfies, I need pics for this post (#sorryimnotsorry)

I had a meeting to attend for Charlotte’s school so I had to eat quickly and I wasn’t hungry enough to make something so I made a shake.  I am not really a big shake or smoothie person.  I would rather eat a meal than drink it.  But I thought since I am not hungry and need something quick I would try it.  So I made one with Chocolate whey protein powder, Vanilla Almond Milk and some Salted Caramel Monkey Butter (thanks again Laura!!).  It was actually pretty good.

photo (4)

When I got home I was hungry (around 830) and I had some chicken with guac and salsa.  I wanted an egg sandwich so bad, but my sister talked me down and convinced me to lay off the carbs and go with protein since it was so late in the evening.  I am glad she did.  J and I watched the Ultimate Fighter series with my fave Rhonda Rousey.  I stayed up way past my bedtime though.  Thank god the weekend is almost here!!!

When is your bedtime?

I like to be in bed by 10pm most nights.

What’s your go to late night snack?

One thought on “Dumbbell Workout and a Shake I Actually Liked

Leave a Reply

