Baked “Fried” Chicken, E.W and Fish Tacos

Sunday I had taken out chicken thighs for dinner but was at a loss for what to do with them. So I googled “chicken thigh recipes” to get some ideas. I got a couple different recipe ideas so I used them and made my own. I made Baked “Fried” Chicken. All the flavour and crispyness (sort of) of fried chicken, but it was much healthier because it was actually baked. Here’s what I did:

2 tbsp. of Dijon mustard

2 tbsp. maple syrup

1 tbsp. canola oil

poultry seasoning, paprika, season salt

Put all of the above in a bowl and mix together. Pour in a Ziploc bag with the chicken and marinate it for at least half an hour.

Then mix bread crumbs and a little bit of canola oil in a bowl or on a plate and then dredge the chicken in it. Put the chicken on a wire rack on a roasting pan and cook for about 35-40 minutes. It comes out crispy and delicious.

image

Delicious!

I made it with J’s famous fiesta corn which I have only mentioned about 150 times on the blog (lime, garlic, chili powder, parm… ring a bell?). I figure we need to eat as much corn as we can handle the next week as it is likely the last week we will have it. My lunch today was delicious leftovers of both.

image (3)

Yummy!!!

Monday’s WOD was the perfect WOD to try out my new shoes. It was a lifting WOD. It was similar to one of the hero WOD’s DT but it was modified by our coach to be a little different in that it has less reps and uses two bars. He called it E.W.

5 rounds
9 deadlifts
6 hang cleans
3 push press

It was tough. I started with 85lbs for my deadlift but after a round and a half I lightened it to 65lbs. I wish I had tried 75lbs though because I felt like I could do more than 65lbs. For my hang cleans and my push press I did 55lbs and it was tough but a good weight. I felt more stable in the new shoes compared to my runners.

After that WOD we did 5 rounds of 1 min of double unders and 1 min of sit ups. My coach didn’t want me doing double unders because of my leg so I did plank hold. Ouch. 5 minutes of plank holds and 5 minutes of sit ups.

I stopped and grabbed some groceries and then made a delicious dinner of fish tacos. I made a honey lime mango slaw and a creamy spicy sauce with Greek yogurt and I breaded and baked the tilapia in the oven. It was so good!

20130930-221547.jpg

I also made a big pot of sweet potato, butternut squash, corn and coconut curry soup. It smells like Fall in the house.

What did you have for dinner tonight?

Did you get a workout in tonight?

2 thoughts on “Baked “Fried” Chicken, E.W and Fish Tacos

  1. That looks DELICIOUS. I might have to try one of those recipes! great job with the weights; I always have the ‘should coulda woulda” feelings with weights but I figure progress is progress

    Last night I had Sole with a citrus macadamia nut crust, over salad with a garlic mustard vinaigrette. It was a lot easier then i thought it would be and pretty good! I overcooked it but thats ok

    this mornings WOD was the “Bring Sally Up” squat warm up, then 3 rounds for time with a rest between of 500 m row, 10 HSPU, 15 squat jumps and 20 T2B. My legs were deeaaddd dead

Leave a Reply

