Sunday Prep Day and a Recipe

The weekend is wrapping up and I don’t have any workouts to summarize. Still not feeling 100% so I continued to rest for the weekend. I did have a pretty wonderful weekend despite still feeling sick.

Saturday my good friend and “roomie” from university came for a visit. She has 3 boys and this was our first visit without kids since we had kids! Crazy! That’s seven years! She came without the boys and J kept C for me (they went to climb hay bails) and E and I went to the spa and got manicures. Then we went to my favourite pub and we had a beer and some apps. It was so nice to hang out and we definitely need to plan to do it again soon. When we got home we played the game of Life with C. We used to play it all the time when we lived together.

That night J and I went for dinner with 2 other couples. The meal was a little disappointing but the company couldn’t be beat.

This morning we both woke up feeling crappy again. Our sinuses just do not want to clear. It’s so uncomfortable. I had hoped to go for a run but it’s quite cold out and I thought since I am just getting over bronchitis I probably shouldn’t.

I went groceries and then spent the afternoon doing a ton of meal prep for the week. I also planned most of our meals out. Tomorrow will be slow cooker beef stew. I got all the veggies chopped and the meat is browned. Just need to throw it all together in the morning. I also planned my snacks and got those all sorted out. I made a big batch of homemade chicken fingers for C’s lunches. Tonight dinner was eggplant Parmesan.

20131124-202045.jpg

Here is the recipe for the eggplant parm. It really could not be easier.

I make a big pot of homemade meat sauce with veggies in it. It’s from scratch so no processed sauce in this house.

I slice up the eggplant and salt it and place it between two paper towels. The salt brings out some of the bitterness that can happen. Then I put the eggplant on a foil lined baking sheet that I spray with cooking spray. I drizzle it with olive oil and shake some bread crumbs on it. I cook it on 400 for… ummm, no idea. Maybe it was 20 minutes? Sorry. I just check it and when it looks ready take it out.

Then I assemble the eggplant like a lasagne. A layer of eggplant, layer of meat sauce, some mozzarella cheese and repeat the layers. The last layer is meat and then I sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on it. I was not very generous with the cheese because I was trying to keep it on the healthy side.

Then bake it back at 400 for another 20 minutes or so.

20131124-202604.jpg

That’s all there is to it. It’s delicious and will make great lunches for the week. It will also help increase my veggie intake which I am trying to do for the HBBC challenge I am participating in.

I also discovered something delicious for dessert. Presidents Choice has a chocolate flavoured Greek yogurt. I picked some up and made this dessert.

20131124-202807.jpg

Delicious!!!

Now I’m just watching the American Music Awards and heading to bed early. I’m hoping another good sleep will help me be able to finally go back to Crossfit! It’s been a week!

What was the best part of your weekend?
Mine was the girl time with an old friend.

Did you meal prep for the week?

Leave a Reply

