I Needed a Hug

Today was a brutal day. I am drained emotionally and physically today. Work was a day from Hell and I feel like I have too much on my plate. Basically it was the kind of day that left me feeling like I need a hug. I am not a hugger. So I did the next best thing. Lifting.

I headed to CrossFit immediately after work. Today after warm up we worked on our snatch. I normally use dumbbells for most wods with the snatch lift but we worked on it barbells today. It felt really awkward but I think I did pretty good actually.

SWOD
5 x 3 back squats – I did 65 lbs

WOD
5 rounds of 2.5 min with 30 s rest
3 burpees
5 squats
7 push ups
10 sit ups

I totalled 13 rounds and was done the burpees and squats in the 14th round.

Dinner tonight was tacos. I wasn’t feeling tacos (we have them often bc they are C’s favourite). I decided to make a big salad for mine and just put the meat on top.

20131209-201941.jpg

After dinner we got our tree decorated. We went yesterday and picked it out so today we had to finish and decorate it.

20131209-202414.jpg
I used to have all the ornaments matching with a blue and silver theme for the tree but now we just have an anything goes tree and I like it much better. It’s decorated with family ornaments that mean something to us instead of looking like something out of a magazine or store window. Don’t get me wrong those trees are beautiful, they just aren’t what we have for our family.

Last night I made a batch of my famous caramel chocolate shortbread squares. They actually taste like twix bars and I make them every year. We decided we needed to try them out tonight and I must pat myself on the back because these just might be my best batch ever.

20131209-202721.jpg
I had planned on using some for gifts but I am not sure it will happen with this batch.

Ps- I did get my hug. One from J and a ton from C.

Do you do any Christmas baking?

What’s your tree like? Do you have a theme?

Leave a Reply

