The Best Soup She’s Ever Had

This weekend I took a break from workouts to relax and get through some personal stuff going on in my life. So there are no awesome workout’s to post about. We had a lot of family time and I had a bit of “me time” and kind of just got through.

Sunday morning we went to visit my new niece!  This was the exciting news I referenced last week, I didn’t want to post it all over the interweb until the family had all been notified.  This was our second visit and this time we got to hold her.

C and her new cousin
C and her new cousin

It was also a weekend of lazy eating.  I wasn’t up to cooking at all.  We ordered in Thai food on Saturday night.  We knew we had to get back into our healthier habits for the week.  It’s a busy week so it might be a challenge.  I wanted to make a soup yesterday, so I came up with a crockpot recipe that I thought would be delicious- Hamburger soup.  I got everything prepped and chopped and in the crockpot and got excited that in six hours dinner would be made.  After the soup prep I made a sausage and sweet potato hash to have ready for quick breakfast eats.  It turned out to be really delicious and I enjoyed it this morning with a fried egg on top.

breakfast at my desk
breakfast at my desk

At 5:00 we had to leave to head for C’s swimming lesson, I decided to check on my soup.  That’s when I realized I am a genius and did not plug the crock pot in!!!  Devastating.  J is a quick thinker and suggested we just put it on the stove and let it simmer while we went to swimming and we did just that.  We had to tweak the recipe a little more but it was for the better.  It was ready when we got home and we served it up and we were so thrilled with the end result.

Hamburger Soup
Hamburger Soup

 

C must have told me at least 3 times during the meal that the soup was SO good.  She said that it was “the best soup she has ever had… seriously”.  I was glowing.  I love seeing her enjoy something I have made for her that much.  I figured since it turned out so amazing I had better share the recipe.

Hamburger Soup or “The Best Soup I Have Ever Made”

1 lb ground beef

3 chopped potatos

2 chopped carrots

1 chopped onion

frozen peas

frozen corn

1 can of tomato soup

water/ beef broth

seasonings- I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, Italian seasonings

Basically I browned the beef and then threw it along with everything else in a pot and simmered it for about an hour and a half.  You could also add pasta if you wanted but we decided against.  I am sorry I don’t have better measurements for you.  I would guess we used a couple cups of stock and about three cups of water.  I really never measure when I make soup so I can’t say for sure.  We also browned the onions a little first to soften them up.

We served ours topped with some grated mozzarella cheese.  Yummy!  Let me know if you try it!

Have you got a Monday workout planned?

What’s your favourite soup recipe that you make?

 

One thought on “The Best Soup She’s Ever Had

Leave a Reply

