All the Snacks

Let me just start by saying this: I am not a football fan. I just don’t get it. J is a big time football fan. He’s tried to explain it but I just hear Charlie Brown’s teacher. It’s ok to have our differences. We don’t have to like all the same things. That’s what keeps it interesting. The one day a year I am fully in favour of football however; Super Bowl Sunday. The reason; All. The. Snacks.

This year was no different. We decided this years snacks would be nachos and jalapeño poppers. And guac of course. You can never forget the guac. The nachos were made with layers of taco meat and cheese. The poppers I have seen a dozen recipes for them but I didn’t follow any. I just made my own up and man were they good.

20140202-223154.jpg
Here’s my recipe for the poppers. I guess they aren’t officially poppers as they aren’t deep fried.

Stuffed Jalapeños
Mix cream cheese, shredded cheese, chili powder in a bowl. Use as much of each as you want. Full the inside of half a jalapeño pepper or a mini sweet pepper (I used some of each). Then take half a strip of bacon and wrap it up and fasten with a toothpick. Then just bake at 400 degrees until the bacon is cooked how you like it. Boom. Done.

We all ate nachos together and C opted out of the peppers. More for us. All good. Then we went our separate ways and rejoined for the half time show. I thought it was an awesome show. It totally made me want to see Bruno Mars in concert. And those fireworks? Holy crap!

It’s sad that it’s over and it’s back to healthy eating and reality once again. It also means the weekend is over and it’s back to the grind tomorrow. Sigh.

What did you think of the half time show?

Did you have any Super Bowl snacks?

3 thoughts on “All the Snacks

  1. I missed the half time show, but I heard it was really good. And it’s perfect timing because tickets for Bruno Mars’ upcoming concert went on sale this morning @ 10am and I managed to score 2 tickets. So although I missed his half time show, I’ll get to see him in person, in August! so excited!!

Leave a Reply

