Keeping My Chin Up

I feel like I am in a real funk. It’s a combination of many things that all kind of happened at once. I feel like I am getting last things and making progress and then something else happens and kind of knocks me back down.

Recent events in my life have dragged me back to a part of my life that I thought was behind me and that I had “dealt with”. I see now that those things will never be “dealt with” but rather they have helped shape who I am and the other relationships in my life. They have made me more confident, a better girlfriend to J and a better Mom. I had go through those things to get where I am now.

Until meeting J and becoming a stronger person both physically and mentally I had A LOT of insecurities. Everyone does, I get that. But mine were many. And I have overcome so many of them. The problem is I kind of forgot lately. I let myself slip back into that non confident, timid, insecure person I used to be. I started to feel like I didn’t know how to deal with it and I need to remember that I do. And I did. And I still can.

It’s not been easy to see my little girl so devastated and not know how to fix it. The bottom line is I can’t. I can just be there for her. That’s what I am trying to do. We are all there for each other. We are a strong family with a strong bond and so much love.

I read a quote the other day by Shirley Temple and it totally stuck with me. “there’s nothing like real love. Nothing”. It’s so true. That’s what keeps me going.

I need to put aside this feeling sorry for myself and snap out of it and enjoy this life I have created. Yes there’s been a bump in the road. But C and I have gotten through some pretty significant bumps. We can get through this too.

I saw a sign before Christmas at a local store that had this quote.

20140212-215444.jpg
I think I will go back and get it for myself this weekend. And I will keep my chin up and not let the stress I am under get the best of me.

Today’s workout at CrossFit made me feel strong and it always boosts my mood and my confidence when I feel that strength. It was just what I needed.

SWOD
5,5,3,3,1,1,1 push press. I worked up to 95 lbs today and it felt pretty amazing.

WOD
5 rds. 2 min rounds
5 cleans with 2 push press
5 front squats
10 box jumps
Then burpees for the rest of the 2 minutes. The idea was to count your total burpees. We got 30s rest between rounds. My total burpees was 32 which was right on point with the rest of the class. I used 55 lbs for this wod.

It was a quiet night with a quick visit from a friend and some cuddle time with my girl. Now I am calling it a night early to try and catch up on some much needed sleep

Does a workout help make a bad mood or day better for you?

What did you do today to treat yourself ?

2 thoughts on “Keeping My Chin Up

  1. A good work out definitely makes my day better. I haven’t done anything to treat myself yet, but hopefully I will soon!I haven’t been reading your blog long, so I’m not sure what is going on with your daughter/life but i hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

