A Recipe and A Short Week

It’s great to start your day thinking it’s Monday and then remembering it’s actually Tuesday and you are starting the week with one day already under your belt.  I’ve only got to get through 4 days of work this week!  That’s how yesterday started and it was a great feeling.  Now it’s already hump day already!

As I mentioned Monday I tried a new recipe and it turned out pretty delicious.  I found a recipe for Sweet Potato Cakes on Pinterest and decided I would try it out.  I didn’t have all the ingredients when I looked at it and decided I would just make my own version instead.  I think they turned out really well.

Not the prettiest, but they were delicious.  trust me.
Not the prettiest, but they were delicious. trust me.

Since I don’t measure anything, I don’t have a recipe per se, but rather a description of what I did.  I took one really big sweet potato and cooked it in the microwave.  Don’t forget to poke holes in it so it doesn’t explode!  After it was cooked I scooped it out of the skin into a big bowl.  I added some minced onion and garlic and some frozen corn.  For seasonings I did salt and pepper, garlic salt, chili powder and cumin.  I also added a bunch of Italian bread crumbs.  Then I just mixed it all up, made them into patties and fried them in a hot pan coated with coconut oil.  It had really good flavours.  You could really use any kind of spices in there.  I really liked the corn and can’t wait for sweet corn season to add fresh corn into them!  With just the one big sweet potato it made 8 patties.

I had one for breakfast the last two mornings as well and it was a great base for a fried egg.  I served it with a homemade turkey meatball and it was a healthy breakfast with lots of protein that kept me full till my morning snack.

breakfast!
breakfast!

 

I didn’t go to CrossFit yesterday as it was my normal rest day because C has singing.  She was too funny, she told me her legs were sore from all her squats.  And her tummy.  Her little muscles were feeling it from her workout on Monday.  She told me she thought she should foam roll last night.  Too cute- just like her mama!  I was also still sore from my run.  My IT band is furious with me and is still throbbing.  Our parking lot at work is quite bumpy with all the snow and walking on the uneven ground is killer.  My knee feels like it is jolted around.  I honestly think the uneven run surface of Monday’s run is what made it so sore.  I hope that’s all it was because I have the 15km relay coming up at the end of March that I am running with my sister.

 

Tonight would normally be a CrossFit night but I am in full vacation prep mode and tonight I have a hair appointment.  #priorities  If I feel up to it maybe I will do a mini wod at home.  It depends when I get home.

 

Hope everyone has a great humpday- the weekend countdown is on!!!

 

Do you love getting your hair done as much as I do?

 

What’s your favourite breakfast lately?  I could use some new ideas. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Recipe and A Short Week

Leave a Reply

