Time for a Quickie and Monkey Butt

You know those days where nothing happens as planned and you find yourself behind schedule on everything? That was my day. Everything I did seemed to go late or start late and the time just got away from me.

I had a hair appointment at 6:30 and wanted to have some time at home to be organized.  I didn’t leave work till 5:30 and the daycare closes at 5:45 so I had to rush there, behind the slowest car ever, and barely made it on time.  Turns out lots of kids were still there so it was fine.  We got home and I had about half an hour before my gal would be over so I threw on my new pants and busted out a quick workout.

20140327-214204.jpg

I consulted my list of at home wod’s and did this one.

WOD

5 rounds

25 sit ups

25 push ups

25 squats

Then I added in 100 slow russian twists with a dumbbell.  I point out that they were slow because wow are they ever a lot harder slowed down.  My coach made me slow them down once and it makes a huge difference.  Then I did some foam rolling.  I finished with time to spare to get C her dinner and empty the dishwasher.

Now my hair is done and I can make lunches and tidy up.  There’s one more thing I want to bring up.  A fellow blogger brought up a very important phenomenon many CrossFitters are discussing.  I know this because I found tons of forums and products online to help with the problem:  Monkey Butt.  Also known as Crossfit Crack.  It’s an actual problem.  It’s basically an abrasion above the butt crack as a result of a lot of ab work, or sit ups.  Many of the sites I read said that it was first noticed in the shower.  O. M. G.  Can I ever relate to that?!  It is a burning like no other.  It’s not pleasant at all.  It’s similar to the shower sting when your hand calluses rip.  I found comfort in knowing it’s not just me it happens to and it’s a real thing.  And it has a name.

Anyhoo- it was Friday for me at work.  I am off tomorrow with big plans.  Lots of appointments and things to do during the day and a girls night on the town with one of my besties.  Much needed and I cannot wait!

Hope you have a Happy Friday!

 

Have you ever had Monkey Butt?

If you have, you are not alone.

Do you like to wear crazy coloured workout pants?

I do!!

Leave a Reply

