Totally Worth It

This weekend was a whirlwind of awesomeness.  I had so much fun.  The best part was I got to spend a ton of it with one of my favourite people in the world, my big sister.  Saturday morning came and my sister arrived around 10:00 am.  I was of course not ready yet, I am always running late.  I got my shit together and finished getting ready and we headed to the boutique where we were meeting two other bridesmaids to try on and decide on dresses.  We were short one very important bridesmaid but she lives all the way in Vancouver so she couldn’t attend.

We had a ton of fun with everyone trying the different styles on, and it seems everyone found something they really like.  What’s most exciting is I think most of them will actually be able to wear the dress again.  Of course we took a ton of photos but I won’t be sharing any of them because they are going to be a surprise for wedding guests.  Another amazing bonus of the morning was that my dress had arrived and I got to put it on for everyone!  I am happy to report I still love it just as much as when I first tried it on…. if not more!  I am so excited for our wedding day!!

After the dress shopping my sister and C and I headed for lunch to Turtle Jacks and my future sister in law ended up joining us.  The weather was so nice we were able to sit on the patio.  Unfortunately just when we were going to get our food the skies got angry and it began to rain.  So our patio lunch was short lived and we had to move inside.

After lunch we found a place for my sister to get a hair cut and C was so patient I let her get a feather in her hair.  She has been asking for one for the longest time.  Then we decided to head over to Target and do some shopping.  I wanted some new summer dresses and I have always had luck with dress shopping there.  This day was no different.  I actually found three I really liked.  When we got to check it out it turned out all three of them were on sale for only $20 each!  Not too shabby at all.  I think its safe to say we did some serious damage at Target between the three of us.

wow.
wow.

Afterwards we had to drive to Caledonia to drop something off to J who was helping out at a friend’s stag and doe.  We did that and then worked up more of an appetite so we went out for dinner and we got Thai food.  Then as promised to C all day, we went for ice cream.  What an awesome day we all had together.  It was exhausting but totally worth it.

Sunday we got up and my sister and I had a 5km race.  We headed out to get there for 9am.  The weather was incredible.  I was actually hot when I was running.  My lungs were confused because they are so used to running when its cooler out.  I did pretty well.  I finished in 30:58 which was a pretty good time for me.  I know I could have given it a little more, but this is a really fun race, there are a lot of people that are just walking it with their kids etc.  I think next year I will bring C and we will do it together.  I was a really sweaty mess when I finished.

so sweaty.
so sweaty.

I had to get home pretty much right when the race finished to get showered and ready for a family party at the farm.  One of J’s cousin’s got married and we were there to celebrate their marriage and it was also a going away party for them, they are moving to Texas!  It was a nice day and we sat outside in the sun.  I think the sun got to me after the race, and I also had a couple beers.  I started to feel exhausted by the end of the party.  When we got home I literally crashed on the couch and slept for a couple hours!  I didn’t think I would be able to sleep last night but I still did.  I got a really bad headache though I think from all the sun and not drinking enough water.

Here we are now, back to reality and the work week.  I didn’t get groceries or any laundry done over the weekend so I definitely will have some catching up to do, but it was such a nice weekend it was worth it.  Now we just have to get through the work week.

monday-post-pic

I hope you all have a great start to the week!

 

The best part of your weekend?

Mine was definitely the sister time.

Target- love it or hate it?

Clearly I am a big fan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

