Starting it Off Right

Well friends. It is here and it has begun. The weekend!!!! It started off for me with an afternoon off! I went for a much needed visit to my chiro and then headed to the school for C’s assembly. She joined a dance team and their performance was yesterday. After that I headed to the nail salon and got a manicure.

20140531-083202-30722733.jpg
I chose one of my favourites “I Mainely Eat Lobster” by OPI. It’s a usual in my rotation. Then I headed off to the gym and had an amazing workout. Seriously one of the sweatiest workouts ever.

SWOD
Work to a 3 rm deadlift. I got to 155 lbs.

WOD
EMOTM for 14 min
Sprint
Odd minutes burpee to pull up
Even min clean to thruster (I used 55 lbs)

Got home and relaxed for awhile. Then J got home and we did this for about an hour.

20140531-114928-42568431.jpg
It was our first porch beer of the season. Well it was my first porch beer of the season and it was lovely. It’s a nice way to unwind after a week of work and activities. Then we headed to our favourite pub for dinner where we met up with his parents and watched his sister sing.

This morning I was up and ready for my Saturday morning CrossFit class. It is another beautiful day outside and that just makes me even more motivated to get moving. We started with strength.

SWOD
Work to a 1 rm of this combo: 1 power clean, 2 front squats and 1 push jerk. I got to 80 lbs. I had 80 for the clean and squats but didn’t attempt the push jerk.

WOD
800 m run
25 front squats
25 pull ups
25 push press
400 m run
25 burpees
25 box jumps
25 kettlebell swings
12 manmakers
800 m run

It was a real chipper. I used 45 lbs for the lifts. I also did 4 manmakers and with a that running my quad and hip were sore so I subbed in sit ups and did 30 sit ups. I finished a sweaty mess.

20140531-122606-44766303.jpg
Getting up and working out Saturday mornings is my favourite way to start off the weekend. I feel so energized and ready to go. I’ve got lots of plans for the rest of the day and lots of things I want to accomplish. Hopefully I can keep the energy going for the rest of the day.

What are you hoping to accomplish this weekend?
For me it’s some garden work.

Do you usually start Saturday morning with a workout?
It’s part of my regular routine for sure.

2 thoughts on “Starting it Off Right

  1. Nice weekend! I wish I had a porch, it looks so nice!

    I had to get up super early this Saturday because I was running a 10km race with my sis who was visiting and a friend. It was haaaard because there were a lot of hills but I finished and felt pretty proud of myself! Most Saturdays though I don’t do much til the afternoon!

Leave a Reply

