Snatches and Nachos

Today’s wod had one of my very favourite movements in it. The dumbbell snatch. I don’t know why or what I love about it but I do. And we haven’t had it in a wod in awhile. There was no strength wod today because we got a refresher on the movements for the snatch and we just tried that to find a comfortable weight for the workout. It was such a fun wod.

WOD
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 dumbbell snatch
Sprint

Basically we did 10 snatch on each side and a sprint, then 9 and a sprint and then 8 etc.

Then after we did 7 minutes of abs with the coach where he did 30, 20 or 10 second bursts of different ab movements. It was killer. I left feeling pretty awesome.  I like when we do abs after a wod, often when we don’t I do them on my own when I get home.

obligatory flex selfie
obligatory flex selfie

For dinner I decided to be creative.  I have seen a few blog posts lately with sweet potato nachos and I finally decided it was time for me to jump on that bandwagon and create some of my own.  I started with the chips last night and I knew I had to make them again tonight.  I made taco meat because C has been requesting taco’s forever, I always add corn to the taco meat I make.  I made the sweet potato chips by tossing them in corn starch first in a ziploc bag, and then tossing them again in the bag in olive oil, garlic salt and chili powder.  Then I cooked them on parchment paper on 400 degrees for probably about 20 min, but I just watch them.  We had a guest for dinner and I realized after I got home from the grocery store that I only had one sweet potato, so I also made some regular potato chips as well.  I made them the same way but minus the corn starch step.  I topped mine with the taco meat, a bit of cheese, some cut up tomato and avocado and a couple drops of sour cream (we had no greek yogurt or I would have used that).

the amazing end result
the amazing end result

I will be making this dinner again.  Soon. Mark my words.  After dinner we played a game of Trouble.  It was fun and I don’t mean to brag but…. I WON!!!  I think it’s fun to have a games night and I think it’s something we should do more often, because it gets us doing something all together.  The rest of the night was spent relaxing and chatting with my sister.  And the best news of all it’s Friday Jr and we are almost at the weekend!  For that I am excited.  That”s all I have for you tonight friends… I wish you all the sweetest of dreams.

 

Favourite nacho topping?

I need the sour cream (or greek yogurt) but avacado is a close second.

 

Dumbbell snatch?  Like or dislike?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

