Just What I Needed

The past week was a whirlwind and I have got a pretty crazy and busy week ahead of me. This weekend we escaped to Port Dover for a family weekend and it was just what I needed.

Friday night I didn’t make it to CrossFit. I was late leaving work and so I decided to treat myself to a manicure and pedicure instead. Then when I got home I went to watch J play baseball.

Saturday started with CrossFit. I got up and went to an earlier than usual class. I went to the women’s boot camp class that runs before our usual class. It was a good workout that started with Deadlifts. We did sets of 2 and I worked up to 145 lbs.

WOD
800 m run

7 rds of 1:45
10 burpees
20 air squats.

done
done

I got home and got myself cleaned and organized for our weekend away. C went the day before me and thanks to the weather J was working so I headed up work my future sister in law and her hubby. We had such a relaxing day of beach and sun and beverages.  It was nice to get away and spend time as a family and just kind of soak up the first day of Summer.

living it up and soaking it in
living it up and soaking it in

J and his dad finally made it up around 9pm.  It was sad he couldn’t be there for the whole weekend but at least they made it for some dinner and marshmallow roasting.  He stayed over and after a delicious big breakfast he headed home.  I spent the remainder of the day soaking up more sun.  I am happy to report I practiced sun safety and did not burn.

this chair = heaven
this chair = heaven

 

I got home early evening and did a whole bunch of laundry.  I am leaving tomorrow for a business trip so I needed to get everything sorted for that.  I got all packed and organized and think I am ready to go.  It’s my first big business trip so I am a little nervous.  I was hoping to get some workouts in while I am gone, but it doesn’t look too promising.  I saw an agenda and I think we don’t have a lot of down time.  I won’t feel guilty about it because I will get back to it when I am back.  If I get anxious, I can always do something in the room to burn off some energy, or use my trusty meditation app to help clear my mind.

I made us up sweet potato nachos for dinner as a special treat and they did not disappoint.  I think this is my favourite dinner right now.

delicious
delicious

So friends. I must get back to getting packed and folding a shit ton of laundry.  I hope you all enjoyed your weekend and celebrated the first day of Summer outside.  It sure was beautiful for us here.

Was it a nice weekend where you live?  How did you get outside?

 

Do you workout when you travel?

I usually try to when I can.

2 thoughts on “Just What I Needed

  1. Do you have a recipe for the sweet potato nachos? They look yummy. Your weekend of soaking up the sun sounds heavenly! Hope the business trip goes well.

Leave a Reply

