Up and At ‘Em

I did something this morning that I am really proud of.  One of the goals I set for myself to achieve during this 6 week meal plan was to get up early and do my cardio workout’s in the morning before work.  J works very early and leaves the house at 6am, so if I want to go for a run I have to go at 5:30am to be back before he has to leave.  For the past two weeks I have been setting my alarm for earlier to do that and for the past two weeks I have been hitting snooze and not going.  This morning I FINALLY did it!  I got up, got my running clothes on and headed out the door.  I was not happy to discover it was raining when I got outside, but having actually gotten up there was no way I was going to let Mother Nature stop me.  So I went anyway.  POURING rain and all.  It was chilly at first but it actually became quite refreshing and I had a great pace which I think was partly the result of the rain.  I did a HIIT run with 10 sets of 30 second sprints and 10 sets of 1 minute lower intensity running.  I also did a three minute warm up and cool down on either side.  I am loving this HIIT timer app I got on my phone.  You can even add music to the timers so the music changes along with the intensity.  I love it.  I powered through the run and came home a soppy mess.

feeling good
feeling good

 

Then I did a round of Tabata planks to finish it off.  I then showered and got myself comfy and tried a new recipe from my meal plan.  I had a Black Forest Cake shake and Ezekial toast with PB2 and jam.

breakie
breakie

It was really good, but really filling.  It took me awhile to finish it.  I was feeling so awake and alive this morning.  I felt like I would for sure have a crash this afternoon but I didn’t at all.  I came to work in a great mood and was really productive all day.  I really hope to make this a more regular thing and just adjust to an earlier morning.  I think it could really work for me.

After work C and I had a couple stops to make and then we went home to get ready for our dinner at the farm. We are planning a potential family trip/ honeymoon for next year that could be really amazing if it pans out. Stay tuned for more on that.

When we got home it was almost 10 pm and lucky me I still had some meal prep to do. I hadn’t made my lunch yet so I had to do that. I tried a new recipe for a shrimp stir fry and made a double batch for two days lunches. We will see how it tastes. I can say that it smelled terrific.

That’s it for me. It’s almost 11 pm and I am still wide awake despite my early morning. I will attempt sleep now. Goodnight friends. xoxo

Have you got any exciting trips planned?
We have a couple exciting trips to look forward to.

Do you like early morning workouts?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Up and At ‘Em

  1. I rarely get up early enough to do morning workouts but when i do they’re great. Awesome way to start the day. I remember when i was training for my half marathon I would sleep in my running clothes so when i woke up it was shoes on and out the door.

  2. I switched to morning running last summer and haven’t gone back (well, occasionally, but it’s rare). I definitely have more energy for the day and am more focused – as long as I get to bed early enough!

Leave a Reply

