I Do What I Can

Thursday came and went and ended with a late work day and a trip to CrossFit.  On my way there I dropped off the disposable camera that we carried with us for the entire 16km of Tough Mudder last weekend.  We weren’t sure if any of the pictures would have turned out.  It was a pleasant surprise to see that about 10 of the 27 photos did turn out and some of the dirtiest parts of our weekend were captured.  Here are a couple of my favourites.

those designs on my headband are mud... not actual designs
those designs on my headband are mud… not actual designs
these girls.  amazing
these girls. amazing

We definitely had a blast.  Despite me not loving the actual race itself, I really wouldn’t want to do it with anyone but these girls.  So supportive and SO SO funny.

CrossFit had a really cool strength wod last night:

SWOD

EMOTM

5 strict press, rest of the minute hold plank

This was tough!  My arms were feeling it after this one for sure.  I had to lower my weights a couple of times but my awesome coach convinced me to start higher than I was going to, and I really appreciated that she did that.

WOD

200 m run

Tabata- lunges

sprint

Tabata- sit ups

200 m run

Tabata- push press

sprint

Tabata- Russian twists

200 m run

Tabata- weighted box step ups

This was a tough and a loooong wod.  It felt amazing after I finished.  I felt so strong.  I also need to point out something, I wore a tank top that I have felt too self conscious to wear in a long time and I think it looked pretty good.

progress
progress

I got home and I was a little stressed because I had a little bit of conflict with a friend.  It’s over something silly, but I don’t like conflict so it makes me uneasy.  I need to learn how to just let things go and accept that I can’t control everything in my life.  That’s hard.  I just can do what I can.  That’s all.  And anything else is out of my control.  I am working on it.  Work in progress right?  One of the goals I recently set for myself was to do what makes ME happy, and stop worrying so much about what other’s think.  That’s not easy to do.

This morning I had set my alarm for 5:30 to run and when it went off I was like “nope, not happening”.  I made excuses and kept snoozing the alarm.  After several snoozes and after J had left I realized that I didn’t have to go at 5:30.  C was at her grandma’s so I could go whenever.  So I did just that.  I got up and I went.  And it felt amazing.  I came home energized, refreshed and with a clearer mind.

another tank that used to be too tight
another tank that used to be too tight

I got showered, enjoyed my breakfast and headed to work to tackle another busy day.  I have a busy weekend ahead of me, so I am glad I got that run in this morning.  We do what we can.  Right?

Happy Friday friends!

 

Does conflict make you uneasy?

It actually can make me feel physically ill.  It’s something I have to get better at dealing with.

 

Are you a victim of the snooze button? 

I am.  every. day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

