Destressing and Record Breaking

This week has started with a real bang.  I have so. much. to. do.  It’s insane.  And of course when it rains, it pours.  Between the craziness at work and the craziness of personal stuff to do it’s a crazy combination.  Monday, the work day just whizzed by.  C is at a new camp, a horse back riding camp and she is loving it.  It changes our schedule a little bit so it meant a later workout for me at CrossFit.  She came with me to the 5:15 class instead of my usual 4:15.  The swod was back squats but my legs were still so tight from Saturday’s Renegade Squats, I opted to push press instead.  It was 5 sets of 5 reps and I worked up to 75 lbs.

WOD

3 rounds

30 kettlebell swings

20 goblet squats

10 burpees

This had a 10 minute cap and I got it done in about 9:30.  It was killer!  It also made me want to get a kettlebell for my at home workouts even more.  I am definitely going to look into that further this weekend.  I will just add it to the crazy list of other stuff we have to do for our Stag and Doe next week.  We also did a round of Tabata where it was 20 s plank and 10 s mountain climbers.  Then we finished with 50 sit ups.

Dinner was soup and the rest of the evening was spent chatting on the phone to my best girl L and of course watching the Bachlorette finale.  Booo, I didn’t really like either of the final two but I do think they seem quite happy together.  One exciting thing to mention is that sweet corn season is finally here and we officially can start having corn every night for dinner!

eating it raw in the car before we even got across the street
eating it raw in the car before we even got across the street

Today was an even more crazy day for me.  I had to be at work at 7:00 am so it was an early morning.  The day was one meeting and phone call after the next.  I was feeling pretty stressed so decided to work in a run to help me de-stress.  It was just what I needed.  I planned to do a short HIIT run again but once I got moving I had a great pace going so once again I decided to just keep running and did another 5km run.  I think I broke my record again for the timing, but I am not sure my timer was working properly so I can’t say for sure.

20140729-215829-79109345.jpg

I had hoped to run all day but as it got closer to the time I was going to go I found myself coming up with reasons not to go.  I do this a lot.  I finally just said nope, you are doing it.  No excuses, just go.  And I was so glad I did, I had an awesome run at a great pace and I got home feeling amazing.  I need to remember that feeling.  I never regret going.

The rest of the evening was spent working on stag and doe stuff.  A friend and I made up 100 packages of tickets.  I am feeling a lot more prepared.  We got a bunch of stuff organized and I feel like now I know what we need to do and I feel a little less stressed about it.  I also think my running helped with that, it just helped clear my mind.

Now it’s time to go get my beauty sleep so I can be ready to face another busy day tomorrow.

Has this been a busy week for you?

 

How do you relieve stress?

for me it’s running, or lifting heavy things.  and cuddling.  that helps a lot too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

