Weekend Recap and Much Needed Rest

Life for me last week was really hectic and it finally caught up to me in a big way.  Thursday was a busy work day because I had Friday off.  I went to CrossFit in the evening and the wod was a killer.  We did a wod called “Death by Back Squats”.  I have mentioned the “Death by Burpees” wod in this post, and this was the same idea but subbing the burpees for back squats.  It is an EMOTM timer and minute one is 1 squat, minute 2 was 2 squats and so on.  I used 85 lbs and ended up dropping once to 75 and again to 55 lbs.  It was tough!  I did up to the 8th round and then decided that was enough.  I was feeling sore in my hip and my knee and I didn’t want to be sore for the next day.  The rest of the class was doing 15 minutes so for the rest of the time I did straight leg dumbbell deadlifts with 20 lb dumb bells and negative push ups.  I was actually impressed with myself as to how well I did with the negative push ups.  I came home and made some dinner and that’s when it hit me.  I was sore.  Really sore.  I got my comfies on and despite how much I had to do I curled up on the couch with my little buddy.

snuggles <3
snuggles ❤

When I laid down in bed I was a little worried because I was really sore.  I took Advil and J was so sweet he rubbed Voltarin on my quads and hamstrings.  I over did it.  I think all the running, and the chiro treatment earlier that day and then the squats was too much and it finally caught up to me.  Bad timing given how busy of a day I was to have on Friday.

I got up Friday and despite my intention to get up and run, I knew that wasn’t an option.  My legs were way too tight.  I tried foam rolling and had to pop advil all day.  It was a lot of work getting everything set up for the stag and doe but we had a lot of fun doing it.  Our wedding party chipped in and we got it done.  We are lucky to have such a great group of friends in our lives.

the gang
the gang

We had an awesome turnout and everyone seemed to have a lot of fun!  We did really well and I can definitely say our event was a success.  It’s also nice to have it done and we can turn our attention to other things… like the wedding.  It will be here before we know it.  Saturday I decided to make it another rest day since I still had very sore legs… and my feet were so sore too.  My mom and I went shopping for a dress for the wedding and she found a few things she liked but she didn’t get one yet.  It was a busy morning and afternoon and finally in the evening J and I got comfy on the couch.  It didn’t take long for us to fall asleep.

This morning I slept in until after 9 am and finally felt refreshed and back to normal.  A huge weight was lifted having all that work done and the event behind us.  I got up and made myself a delicious breakfast and worked on my meal plan for the week.  I want to start this week off organized and get really focused on my eating.

I went for a run after breakfast and it is a beautiful day out.

scenes from my run and my new favourite jam
scenes from my run and my new favourite jam

It was such a great day for a run.  It’s sunny but not too hot.  When I got back I decided to use my new kettlebell and do a little workout with that.  I did a Tabata workout of kettlebell swings for the 20 s intervals and then every other 10 s interval I did high pulls with the kettle bells.  I finished off with a set of presses on each side with the kettlebell.

kettlebell fun
kettlebell fun

I then came back inside and did a Tabata ab workout that included sit ups, Russian twists, jack knives and a plank.  I finished with some stretching and made myself a Chocolate Java Protein shake as my reward for all my hard work.  It was a long workout but after two days of rest I think it was perfect.  I am feeling so energized and can now face the rest of my day with a vengeance.

The before and after.  So sweaty!
The before and after. So sweaty!

I am going to spend the rest of the day doing some groceries and meal prep.  C and I also have some plans to spend some time together since she has been away a lot over the last week.  We have plans to paint our nails, and of course cuddle.  I hope everyone had a great weekend and make sure to soak up every last awesome minute of it.  I know I will.

Happy Sunday!

 

Did you workout this weekend?

 

What fun things did you do this weekend?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

