What a Difference a Day Makes

In my Tuesday recap I talked about how I was feeling like I was in a bit of a funk, feeling like I had worked so hard and wasn’t seeing the progress I wanted.  I think it was just a bad day for me.  I think it was more than just my nutrition and my progress that had me down.  I was just having a bad day, and I got snacky to deal with it.  It’s silly that I turn to food as comfort, I mean I know a lot of people do, but it doesn’t make me feel any better.  If anything then I feel worse for not being strong.  I woke up feeling better.  I wasn’t feeling so bloated and I felt really well rested and ready to start off a new day.  I made a promise to myself that I was going to drink less tea and more water.

my goal
my goal

Last night I made up a batch of herbal tea to put in the fridge.  I made a raspberry pomegranate caffeine free herbal tea to enjoy throughout the day.  I packed a cup of it in my lunchbag and added a packet of Splenda to it and enjoyed it in the afternoon when I would normally have my second tea.  I also made a real effort to drink more water.  I always drink a big glass when I first get up in the morning, and I always have my glass before my meal.  However, today I told myself every time I left my office to go to the bathroom I would chug some water first and I had A LOT more than I have been having and it felt good.

I felt really good this morning when I got ready.  I wore one of my new purchases from the weekend.  My new colourful Kate Spade blouse.

IMG_6432

I got a few compliments on this top and I felt really good in it.  There’s always something about wearing new clothes that makes you have a better day.  I really felt determined to stick with the meal plan I had set out for myself and I did a great job.  I stuck with it and felt good about every decision I made.  I know I have to be persistent and focused and just keep going.

it takes time.  focus.
it takes time. focus.

I went straight to CrossFit and got ready to sweat.  We started with a SWOD and did 5 sets of 5 strict press.  I worked up to 65lbs and got 3 of them overhead.  I was happy with this because I had already done 4 sets leading up to that set.  When we finished our Coach told us to leave our weights on our bars because that was the weight we would be using for our wod.  I normally don’t wod with 65lbs so I was a little nervous to hear what the wod was.

WOD- 12 minute cap

30 push press

30 back squats

30 deadlifts

30 burpees

When he announced it I seriously felt panicked.  Could I do this wod at 65lbs?  I would normally have used 55lbs but no one else dropped their weights so I thought, ok, I am going to try it.  I killed it.  Seriously, I was so happy with how I did.  I had to do the push press in sets.  I did 10, then 5’s until I was done.  The back squats I managed to do unbroken and the deadlifts I did in sets of three.  Then I just powered through the burpees.  I literally finished exactly at the 12 minute mark.  I was really happy with my performance.  We finished off with 100 sit ups.

amen
amen

I love how strong I felt after this wod.  I love that I pushed myself harder than I thought I could do.  I texted a friend that normally goes to the 415 class to tell her.  She always encourages me to go higher than my instinct so I knew she would be impressed and she was really pumped for me.  I love my gym.

I got home and looked at myself and was like- what are you talking about no progress?  Look at yourself.  I took a good look and I was happy with what I saw.  I shouldn’t let the feelings of one day be so powerful and cause so much doubt.

I'm not perfect, but I am happy
I’m not perfect, but I am happy

I am happy with where I am have gotten with my hard work.  I need to remember that, and stay on track.  I have a great support group, other girls that are on my coach’s team sent me messages on Instagram to keep going, and celebrate all progress even if its small.  And they are right.  I shouldn’t let myself get into such a funk.  I am so grateful to have met so many awesome people through my gym family, and my support group through my nutrition coach.

I had a really good night relaxing.  I decided once lunches were packed I was going to sit and put my feet up.  No laundry, no wedding stuff, just chilling.  I was excited to see a new episode of Hell’s Kitchen was starting and so I watched that once C was in bed.  The only “work” I did was to foam roll my very sore calves.  Between yesterday and today’s burpees my calves are really sore.

Only one more sleep until my love comes home and two more until the weekend.  Things are really looking up.

How do you stay positive when you are in a funk?

 

When was the last workout where you really impressed yourself?

6 thoughts on “What a Difference a Day Makes

  1. I have my fair share of “funk” as well, but lately when it comes to nutrition I’ve literally just been telling myself “no.” Regardless of how snacky I feel, I just remind myself that unless I want veggies or protein, then I’m not actually hungry. 99% of the time it works. The other 1% I eat veggies or protein. 🙂

    That said, you look amazing and you killed that workout! Nice job girl!

Leave a Reply

