Recapping the Weekend

I loved this weekend.  So much.  It started with a looooong busy day Friday that kept me at work much later than I would have liked for a Friday that was also Halloween!  By the time I got C and picked up dinner ( a pizza that tasted even better because it was free!) and got home, we were already late.  We were meeting friends for trick or treating in town (#countryproblems).  We rushed there and took the kids out.  It was pretty chilly and kind of rainy but they had a blast.  Then we got home and J went to pick up our sitter as him and I were hitting the town with friends.

Here’s a couple highlights:

good times
good times

We went to a bar with another couple and the band was AH-MA-ZING.  I will definitely go back to see them again.  They played a bunch of fun covers, and medleys of songs.  We had a ball dancing.  It was a late night but it was totally worth it.  Saturday morning I got up and went to the gym.  It was our team workout and it was a tough one.

WOD

“Slamball Annie”

50-40-30-20-10

slamballs

lunges

With your partner, one worked on double unders while the other did the 50 slamballs.  When they are done, they switch and the other does the slamballs, then when done both do 50 lunges.  Then you do the same for 40, then 30 etc.  The slamballs hurt everywhere, my arms from having the ball overhead and then my butt was feeling it from all the squatting.  It was a crazy workout.  Then  we finished with 50 sit ups.

After the gym, J and I had a bunch of errands to run- mostly wedding related.  It’s in just 3 weeks!  We got our wedding bands, and I had to take my engagement ring in to be fixed and resized.  Sadly I won’t have it on for two weeks.  It feels so weird without it.  I have to keep reassuring myself I haven’t lost it.  We got lots done and then we picked up C and the three of us went for a nice dinner at the Keg.  J was cleaning up and found a gift certificate last week, and then we won the football pool so we decided we deserved a nice treat.  It was delicious and we had a really nice time.  We called it an early night and went up to bed by 9pm.  #partyanimals

Sunday we had a lunch with my family to celebrate my Dad’s birthday.  My sister and her bf were running the Road to Hope Half Marathon.  I had also registered to run the half and sadly my training was sidelined when I got pneumonia.  There was no way my lungs would be strong enough.  It was bitter sweet because I was so proud of my sister for doing it, and so sad I couldn’t do it with her as we had planned.  After lunch we had a meeting at the venue for the wedding and got all our final details sorted out.  It also left me with another to do list.  Then we did groceries.

When I got home I decided to go for a run.  Since I couldn’t run the half, I still wanted to get out and do something, so I did 5km.  It was just starting to get dark out and it was beautiful.

the sky was amazing
the sky was amazing

It felt great to be running again.  I can’t wait to get back out there and get my distance up again.  It was cold out but I dressed warm and had a great pace for a quick 5km.   When I got home I did an ab circuit with some jackknives, push ups, Russian twists, v sit, and bicycles.  Then I stretched off and headed downstairs.  I got C showered and made her some soup and J put together our dinners with our leftovers from the Keg.

not bad for leftovers
not bad for leftovers

The rest of the night was spent meal planning, lunch packing and relaxing with the new Kardashian series.  Oh and lots and lots of laundry.  I was sad last night that the weekend was ending. I felt so good all weekend, being so productive and active.  I feel like things for the wedding are falling nicely into place.  I can’t believe it’s only 3 weeks away!  I wish the weekend was longer.

#truth
#truth

I hope everyone has an awesome Monday!

 

Did you dress up for Halloween? 

I was a cowgirl- total last minute costume.

 

Slamballs- love them or hate them?

I love them, it makes me feel badass doing them!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

