Back to the Grind

Today was back to work after a week off. The week was way too short and I wish I could have slowed down time a little. I definitely didn’t feel ready to go back but that’s life right? I struggled to get out of bed but we did pretty good falling back into our regular routine.

I had my morning shake and got ready for work in good time. C was very good and got herself ready without too much hassle and we started off the morning pretty smoothly.

Work was busy and I got out of there at a decent time. I hit up the 5:15 class at CrossFit and it was a much needed stress reliever. When I saw the wod I am not going to lie I wanted to turn right around and leave. So. Much. Rowing. But my friend and I unknowingly wore matching outfits so I couldn’t just leave. So I did what anyone else would do and took a selfie.

IMG_7360.JPG
We started with a strength wod that was 5 sets of 5 front squats and in between 5 sets of 5 strict pull ups. We started with the hardest band and worked down as needed. I am proud to say I stayed with the hardest two bands and never had to go to the easiest one. Boom! For the front squats I worked up to 95 lbs.

WOD
1000 m row
50 squats
3 x 1 min planks
50 squats
500 m row

That was a tough wod for sure. The rowing killed me. I had a real tightness in what I thought was my calf so I stopped a couple times to roll it. Since I have been home though the whole side of my lower leg is so sore and locked up. It’s even moving into my foot. I did take one more selfie because I felt really strong today.

IMG_7363.JPG
J and I planned a healthy dinner tonight because we have been really indulgent since the wedding. I’m talking one pound peanut butter cups indulgent. So he grilled us some salmon and I made some sweet potato tots and we had salad. It was nice to get some salad in my system.

IMG_7365.JPG
The rest of the night included the usual married couple stuff, getting C ready for bed, doing dishes and J building Ikea furniture. As soon as our DIY project we have been working on is complete I will share it with you so you can all be as excited about it as I am.

Do you DIY?
I don’t which is why I’m even more excited to see it come together.

One thought on “Back to the Grind

Leave a Reply

