DIY: Makeshift Mudroom

I have mentioned before that I am not the most crafty or handy person.  Our entrance way has always been a sore spot for me in that it was always such a mess.  It looked like an explosion of shoes that no one liked to look at.  Well, except maybe one little one.

the shoe pile is one of this little ones places to nap
the shoe pile is one of this little ones places to nap

I have been seeing a lot of these “mudroom” built in type things on Pinterest and had pinned a ton of them in hopes that we could maybe organize our entrance this way.  One of our wedding showers we got some money so we decided to put it towards this project and make it happen.  We went to Ikea (on a Saturday, bad idea by the way) and picked up the pieces we decided on.  We did a combination of a couple different units I saw on Pinterest.  The units we decided on were the Besta (for the bench) and two different units from the Hemnes collection.

 

besta bench
besta bench

This was the base of the unit and has cupboards that we can store shoes in.  We can also use it as a bench to sit on when getting ready.  It’s the perfect size for what we needed.

Hemnes Bookcase
Hemnes Bookcase

This is the side unit that runs joins up with the top shelves which are also part of the Hemnes series.

the top piece- hemnes
the top piece- hemnes

All of these were found in the living room section under TV stands and bookcases.  They can all be found online as well through Ikea.  The only negative is all of the assembly required with these units.  They NEVER work as easily as the instructions make it sound.  J usually does the assembly because my instruction following skills are not as sharp as his.  There was one night that I attempted to put one of them together myself and I made a mistake on the very first step which caused me to cry because I couldn’t get it apart.  So J didn’t come home to a surprise that it was all assembled for him, he came home to me in tears.  #ikeafail

Anyway, this weekend we finally got everything together and we got it set up and it looks fabulous!  I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out.

 

organized at last!
organized at last!

 

I think it’s safe to say this was a successful DIY project and maybe, just maybe we can tackle some other ones. I have a whole Pinterest board of ideas waiting.  J if you are reading this- get ready for it, and I am sorry in advance.  xoxo

How are you with DIY?

 

 

What was your last DIY project you are really proud of?

4 thoughts on “DIY: Makeshift Mudroom

Leave a Reply

