I’m Not a Young Pup Anymore

Oh hi there!  It’s Monday and the weekend is over and it was a good one.  Saturday I woke up and made myself a delicious breakfast and got ready to hit up the gym.  Saturday morning workouts are my absolute favourite workouts of the week.  They are always intense and heavy and I love them.

IMG_7767We started off working on a lift.  We could pick any lift and basically try to push ourselves and hit a PR.  My partner and I decided to work on cleans.  Well she wanted to work on cleans and I was like, yeah ok sure whatever.  So that’s what we did.  It got in my head big time.  I did great at first and we got up to 95 lbs and I attempted and I didn’t get it, but it was RIGHT.THERE.  So I tried again, and again, and it got so in my head that I felt like I forgot how to even do it.  My coach is a problem solver and was like ok that’s it we are recording it.  I tend to do well when I am being recorded.  And BOOM, done.  I got it.  It wasn’t pretty at all but I got it.  The annoying thing is that I know I could do heavier than that, it was all mental on this one.

WOD- partners

20 min AMRAP

10  clean and press (each) (55 lbs)

10 burpees (each)

20 double unders

We did the clean and press and the double unders separately and the burpees were done at the same time.  While your partner was working then the other partner worked on this little guy:  100 box steps, 100 lunges, 100 sit ups.

We managed to bang off three rounds and we were in the middle of our burpees of our fourth round when the clock went off.  It was a tough one.  But I felt so good when we were done.  I love having these crazy workouts Saturday mornings and then going home and being ready to face the day.  When I got home J and I went out to home improvement stores as we are working on a renovation project, it really made me realize that home décor is really not my thing at all.

After all the stress of making decisions for our home I decided I need to just chill on the couch for a bit which is exactly what I did.  I had a friend with me to keep me company.

so sweet
so sweet

This kitty is so snuggly.  I can’t deal with her cuteness.  Here’s another example:

o.m.g
o.m.g

Saturday night we went with friends to a local pub and we brought a deck of cards to play euchre.  We had such a fun time, it ended up being a very late night with too many beverages and Sunday I woke up feeling disgusting.  I was a lump all morning and all my plans of productivity were out the window. I was mostly just looking for a dark room and lots of advil.

hangover-cures-nye-1

I get reminded every time I drink that I am not as young as I think and I can’t handle it.  I wish I remembered it BEFORE we go out though, and not after when it’s definitely too late.  Ah, to be young again.

What did you do this weekend for your workout?

 

Do you recover easily from a night out?

Leave a Reply

