These Days

There’s been a lot going on around here.  Work, as usual is busy…but at home, there’s this:

renovations
renovations

This is outside our entrance to our house.  We are renovating!  It’s not something I can say I have really lived through, and it’s challenging.  We are building a new bathroom.  We have this one weird room upstairs that’s not really big enough to be a bedroom, so we’ve been using it as a junk  storage room.

it's nice and clean in this picture but it was full of stuff
it’s nice and clean in this picture but it was full of stuff

On the opposite side of the wall is our ensuite which is just a sink and toilet, no shower.  It’s an old farmhouse and we just have one full bathroom downstairs, no bathtub, just a shower.  So we decided to knock down the wall between the storage room and ensuite and make one big bathroom.

the ensuite
the ensuite

The renos started Monday and every day I come home to a bigger mess.  I had a really trying day Tuesday and it caused a mini meltdown and it was only day two.  But since then I have been ok, I am just focusing on the end result and I am really excited to have it done and have an awesome huge new bathroom.  It’s also giving me a ton of inspiration to really clean up some stuff in the house and be brutal and just throw stuff out.  We have one of those big bins and we have piles and piles of stuff to put into it.  It’s time to clean up around here!

Wednesday I made it to the gym after work.  We started with strength and did 5 sets of 10 front squats.  I have to say I really don’t like the sets with so many reps.  Especially front squats.  I started with 55 lbs and moved up from there.  As I got heavier I didn’t do the full 10 reps.  I went to 8 and my last set was just 5 reps.  I worked to 100 lbs for 5 reps.  I was happy with that.

WOD

15 min AMRAP

200 m row

5 push press (I used 65 lbs)

10 box step ups

15 goblet squats

I am not sure how many rounds I got through.  It was a killer, and I thought about dropping my weight but I am happy to say I stuck with it and kept it at 65 lbs even though it was heavy.  We finished off with 50 sit ups and 100 flutter kicks.

Today I decided to rest and I didn’t do anything in terms of workouts, I was pretty sore and I think between the lifting and how I slept I gave myself a kink in my neck.  I went to chiro at lunch and it helped a lot.  It’s still a little tight.  Tonight was spent doing laundry and vacation planning.  Yep, we have another one coming up- our honeymoon.  I am starting to get pretty excited about it.

On a final note I have to share something adorable with you all.

cutest. I think it's safe to say they like each other.
cutest. I think it’s safe to say they like each other.

xoxox

Have you ever lived through a messy renovation?

This is my first but I think it will be the first of many.

One thought on “These Days

Leave a Reply

