It’s the Freaking Weekend

Time to recap this weekend.  It was a busy one and we got A LOT done.  I started with a Friday after work gym visit.  We began with strength and worked on a one rep max push press.  I have been stuck at 105 lbs for a long time now and wanted to try and break that record.  I worked with a friend and we just started working up gradually.  We got to 95 lbs and she suggested adding 2.5’s and I said I would rather jump by 5’s since I still felt strong, this way I wouldn’t tire myself out.  In the end I killed it and pressed 110 lbs!!  I was so excited, I yelled across the gym to my coach- did you see that???  110!!!  He did see and I was on top of the world.

WOD

7 rounds

7 push ups

7 squats

7 push press

7 box steps

7 burpees

7 deadlifts

I used 55 lbs and it was heavy.  I actually started with 65 lb for the first round but dropped it.  It was a tough one.  I was sore when I got home for sure.  We had plans with one of J’s cousins and his wife to meet for dinner at a sushi place they recommended.  It was a really fun night and the food was delicious.  We had a blast.  I was really full and went to bed when we got home.

Saturday morning I woke up and made myself some breakfast before I dropped C off at her Grandmother’s house.  Then I headed to the gym for my favourite workout of the week.  We did a team challenge that is kind of tough to explain.  We each had to do a round of Fran to start off, which is 21-15-9, thrusters and pull ups. Then between us we did 100 plate pushes, 100 burpees and 200 sit ups.  Then we each did another round of Fran to finish off.  It was BRUTAL.  I knew immediately after I would be sore from it.  The rest of the day involved getting a bunch of errands done for our renovation. We had a quiet night together and watched a movie with popcorn and lots of snuggles.  It was perfect.

Sunday I got up and made breakfast and when I was done J and I threw SO much junk out.  We got one of those big bins for our renovation garbage and we are able to get rid of so much junk.  It’s been liberating to just cut out the clutter.  I then got myself ready and psyched up for a run.  I headed into town and ran 9.6 kms.  It was the perfect temperature out, I think it was 2-3 degrees.  I felt pretty go except for a lot of pain in my IT bands.

getting it done
getting it done

I haven’t done a long run in awhile so it was tough but I was glad I went.  When I got home I had to ice both legs and to be honest they were sore the rest of the day.  I ran a bunch more errands and by the end of it I was limping.  Ouch.  We had a nice dinner together and then I spent some time researching and booking for our trip.  I am getting really excited.  Especially since we are going on an adventure at this beautiful place.

Waitomo Caves, NZ
Waitomo Caves, NZ

It’s going to be such a great trip.  We have a lot of other adventures planned as well.  Stay tuned for more details!  xoxo

How did you spend your weekend?

Where is the coolest place you have vacationed?

 

Leave a Reply

