The Very Worst Run

This weekend was a whirlwind of activity.  Friday I took the afternoon off and spent some quality girls time with my Mom, my Sister and my niece and C.  It was my sister’s birthday earlier during the week and we went shopping at the outlets for the afternoon and then had a big family dinner at my parent’s house that night.  I found some really great deals shopping and got some great stuff I can use on my trip.

some of my purchases
some of my purchases

It was really nice to spend the time together, we haven’t done that in ages.  Even C did some shopping and got some great stuff.  We came home after dinner and I was so glad I was able to take the afternoon off for some quality time.

Saturday morning I got up and made breakfast and then C and I headed to the gym for my favourite workout of the week.  We worked in groups of 3 and tackled a crazy wod.

WOD

Karen- 150 wallballs

Annie 50-40-30-20-10 double unders/ sit ups

100 front squats

100 push press

100 box step ups

Annie 50-40-30-20-10 double unders/ sit ups

Karen- 150 wallballs

We split everything up between us and got through it in about 27 minutes.  Then we had about 6 minutes to work to a one RM on one lift, one person did front squat, another did push press and the other did power clean.  I worked on my power clean.  I got 95 lbs.  I attempted 105 lbs a bunch of times but it just wasn’t happening.  I actually loved this workout, I found it challenging but so fun, especially working as a team and cheering each other on.

Saturday afternoon J and I did a lot of running around for our renos and getting our house organized for my parents to stay in when they stay here while we are away.  We treated ourselves to an amazing dinner for the three of us at a restaurant called The Black Forest Inn.  I know I have mentioned it here before, it’s a German restaurant and the schnitzel there is AH-MA-ZING.  We had a delicious family dinner and a quiet evening at home.

Sunday morning we got up and after breakfast I got ready to go for a run.  I wanted to get a 12 km run in, J mapped out a course for me.  I got ready and headed out.  It was a lot colder out than I have been running in for a long time.  I bundled up but it was still really cold.  It took some time to adjust.  The first terrible thing that happened was I realized right away that I had to pee.  I knew there was no way I would make it the whole way so I was racking my brains on where I could stop.  One of my best gals lived in the area so I took my phone out to text her and as I was typing it my phone just shut down.  I think it was the cold.  I kept trying to turn it back on but no luck.  So here I was at the beginning of a very long run with no music and a full bladder.  It was not a good start at all.

I kept going.  I did stop in at my friends and she wasn’t home.  With no music I found it really tough to not think about how cold it was, and how much I had to pee, and how my knee was starting to hurt.  It’s such a mental struggle.  I kept telling myself out loud, you’ve got this, keep going, you aren’t stopping.  I thought of a way to stop back at my car and grab my ipod and make a bathroom break (I was parked at a grocery store).  I did that, and I plugged my phone in at my car and it came back on.  I set back out and I struggled so much.  My knees were so sore.  I decided to turn back and I am still so made at myself.  I think stopping and trying to start up again just was too much for me.

I felt pretty awful about it.  :(
I felt pretty awful about it. 😦

I headed home and iced my knees and then we did groceries.  We had a busy day tidying up and doing a ton of laundry.  We had J’s family over for dinner to celebrate his mom’s birthday.  We made our Jalapeno Popper dip and it was a big hit.  I failed and didn’t take any photos.  Sorry friends.

This is going to be a very busy week for us finishing up the prep for the house and for our trip.  I have A LOT to get done and I am not sure when I will fit everything in.  I will have to do my best to be super productive this week. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and is ready to face the week head on.  xoxo

Do you run with music or without?

Are you training for anything right now?

I am but am not feeling super confident about it right now.

Leave a Reply

