Finding my Adventurous Side

I’ve never been the type that is comfortable trying new things and just jumping in and seeing what happens. I am a planner and I’m a bit of a scaredy cat. New Zealand has a ton of extreme adventure activities and I was hesitant to try a lot of them.

I was WAY out of my comfort zone with our cave adventure but I was SO glad I did it afterwards.

Rotorua has A LOT of fun and adventurous things to do including some of the more extreme such as bungee jumping and skydiving. Neither of us really wanted to do anything as extreme as that.

We started our day with a delicious breakfast, we both got the same thing.

IMG_8111
A triple decker sammie from a cafe we found in town. It was so yummy! And filling!

After breakfast we drove down by the water at the recommendation of a really nice couple we met when staying at the farm to check out a Maori church. It was really pretty.

IMG_8115
The really cool thing about Rotorua is there are thermal springs all over the place. You can literally see steam coming up out of the ground. It’s really neat to see. There are beautiful views everywhere.

IMG_8112
Our next stop was at the Skyline Rotorua. They have all kinds of activities there but we were there for the luge rides.

IMG_8120
We took a gondola up to the top and we rode down the luge track. I was nervous about it and it was totally out of my comfort zone. One of the (many) things that I love about J is how he encourages me to let go and try things and just have fun. The first track down I kept my brake on for almost the whole ride. J kept trying to get me to let go of my brake. The second ride down I was a little more comfortable and released the brake and had a lot more fun.

IMG_8145

After our luge rides we headed to another adventure. We went to OGO. This was ah.ma.zing. I have never laughed so hard in my life. Here’s an idea of what it was.

IMG_8133
The two of us went in together and there was water in with us. We were sloshing all over the place. We did three rides and I am so glad we did it. I had so much fun. I definitely recommend this to anyone who has the chance to to do this.

After our busy morning we went for lunch and then back to our hotel to rest. I wasn’t tired enough to nap so I decided to do a workout that caught my eye on Pinterest the other day.

IMG_8146
source
This was a doozy. I just did it in our hotel room and after getting through it once I was convinced I was going to quit and not do it in reverse but I pushed myself and I did it again. I finished off with some abs. I am glad I have been able to get some workouts in and stay active. Especially considering all the amazing meals we are having here.

What is the most adventurous thing you have done?

Leave a Reply

