My Eyes Hurt and It’s Cold

This winter has been a real bitch. It seems like every other day we are having an extreme cold warning. Today’s has us with a windchill of -35. Can you even? I can’t even. I hate the cold. I hate winter. I tried to convince J to move to New Zealand but sadly he did not agree.

The weirdest thing is that despise my absolute disgust for winter I am amazing myself with my ability to just suck it up and get through it with relatively little complaining. I mean yeah I am over it but there’s nothing I can do about it. I’m just bundling up and getting through it. When we have a day like Saturday where it’s -10 out we are commenting on how warm it is out. It’s nuts.

This morning I had to get up realllllllly early for work and I’m really not a morning person so it was hard. It’s so hard being a grown up. So hard. I had planned to leave work early since I went in so early but I wasn’t able to. I felt like this at some points.

IMG_8286
I was yawning and I feel like my eyes are sore from being open longer than necessary.

When I finished up I headed to the gym. Yep I was tired but I knew I would be glad I went. The workout was in honour of a young child that our coach knew and he passed away in 2012. The strength had us lifting 2012 lbs for two different lifts. I chose back squats and deadlifts. For back squats I did 75 lbs which meant I did 27 reps. The deadlifts I did 95 lbs and did 21 reps. I felt strong.

WOD
3 rounds
1 min plate pushes
1 min dumbbell thrusters
1 min burpees
1 min overhead lunges
1 min mountain climbers
1 min rest

I was glad I went and did this workout. I felt great. When I got home I did some abs before getting changed and ready for dinner. J was out for the evening and C wasn’t feeling well. She had her dinner early and I made a big batch of veggies.

IMG_8281
Yesterday I cooked up some turkey meatballs in a homemade tomato sauce so I had that with my veggies and also a scoop of leftover sweet potato garlic mash. It was really filling and so delicious.

IMG_8285
It wasn’t the prettiest but I promise it was delicious. I spent the rest of the evening relaxing on the couch. C went to bed early and I laid on the couch watching the Bachelor. This season has been so good!!! As soon as it’s over I have a date with my pillow.

Hope your Monday has been a good one. One day down out of this work week already!

When you are tired do you skip the gym or does it make you feel better?

Tell me something about your Monday!

One thought on “My Eyes Hurt and It’s Cold

  1. I’m with you on being over winter. It’s too cold and when it does warm up it snows! I’m gonna love all this snow when I head to Vermont to ski for march break but right now I’ve had enough!

Leave a Reply

