Workout Fail, a Concert and Free Shoes!

I’m a little late to the weekend recap party but hey better late than not at all right?  The weekend was a glorious long weekend for me and we had a blast.  Friday night it was off to a rough start.  I really wanted to make the gym since I missed some of my scheduled workouts during that week, but I was rushed and stressed and I made it but was really flustered.  It was one of those bad days where the workout was going to be just what I needed or a terrible idea.  Sadly, it ended up just being a bad idea.  I don’t even really remember what we did, it was just brutal.  Everything hurt and I felt like a bag of shit during it.  I won’t even recap the wod because I think I blocked it out of mind it went so terribly.

Saturday morning I was off to a better start and made it to the workout and it felt much better.  It was a team workout and there was three of us on our team.  The first wod included double unders, man makers and lunges.  Then we did a second one that had plate pushes, burpees and sit ups.  We got it done and I left feeling much better than I did after Friday’s workout.  The afternoon was spent running errands and then we had a visit with friends Saturday night.

Sunday was a very exciting day.  We got up and I made a delicious crepe breakfast.  I did a short yoga and pilates workout which felt really great to get all bendy and stretchy.  J and I had the Garth Brooks concert that night.  It was in Buffalo so we had made plans to stay the night and make a night of it.  We got there in time to get settled and then got ready for the show.

dusted off the cowboy boots
dusted off the cowboy boots

We met up with friends for dinner and drinks before the show.  It was so busy, the restaurants were all booked up and we barely were able to find a table.  We had a good time with our friends and headed over to the concert where we parted ways since we didn’t have seats together.  J and I got our souvenir koozies.

cheers!
cheers!

We had all right seats.  The concert was AMAZING!!!  We had such a great time!!!  I have been wanting to see Garth for years, you could even say that was a bucket list item crossed off.

poor quality but you get the point
poor quality but you get the point

It was really nice to have the extra day off work, and it was spent very quietly.  I went to chiro and decided I would go in to my favourite running store to get a new pair of shoes for running.  I get knee pain and it usually means it’s time for new shoes.  I got my usual Mizuno Wave Inspires and they are the prettiest turquoise colour.  While I was there I asked if he had any of the NB Minimus shoes, those are what I wear for lifting.  He had one pair left of the one style, not the cutest but the style I wear.  He was going to give me a really good deal since they were the last pair, and then last minute he said “you know what, since you are buying the other ones, you can just have them”.  WHAAAAA???  Pretty amazing right?  I was pretty excited about it.  I can’t wait to try them both out.  The weather is warmer this week and is above freezing so I am hoping to get out this week and run.

I hope you are having a great week so far… and let’s hope the work week goes nice and fast.  xoxo

Do you have a favourite brand/ style of running/gym shoes?

I only buy Mizuno for running.  I have tried others but always go back to Mizuno.

Is there a concert on your bucket list?

Leave a Reply

