Put Down the Peanut Butter Cups

I have been wallowing lately.  I had a birthday.  Big Deal.  I got a year older.  Big deal.  It’s time to snap out of it and get my shit together.  Last night I was feeling sorry for myself and ate Wendy’s for dinner and then topped it off with a package of peanut butter cup.  It was delicious, don’t get me wrong.  But it was a little excessive.  Life is really not that bad.  So what if I am 39.  Yep, I said it.  I am 39.

I'm 39.  And I am ok with it.  (sort of)
I’m 39. And I am ok with it. (sort of)

Last night at the gym was my birthday workout.  Yep, I am that important there that I get a workout dedicated to my birthday.  My coach incorporated my age in it, gasp, so everyone found out how old I am.  What made me feel amazing was the disbelief that I could actually be 39- there were a lot of Holy Crap’s! and No Way!  I was told I look about 25.  I will take it.  It really made me feel awesome about myself.

We started with a little mini 6 minunte workout that ended up being killer!  It was 3 burpees, 6 squats and 9 mountain climbers (each side).  Six minutes sounds short, but holy 6 minutes of those movements was way tougher than it sounded.

20 min AMRAP (team workout)

p1- 39 DB thrusters p2- wall sits p3- plate push

p1- 39 sit ups p2- v-sits p3- plank

p1- 39 body rows p2- bench dips p3- plank on a med ball

This was one of those wods where I didn’t really pay attention so in my mind we just did this once, then I saw people starting back at the thrusters and said to my one partner, holy shit- this is an AMRAP???  yikes!  We killed it, and got through the first round again.  I felt pretty awesome after and realize age is just a number.

I also started thinking after my disgusting dinner, why am I sabotaging myself.  I am feeling gross and self conscious lately and it’s totally my own doing.  Also, I read my bestie’s blog this morning and she mentioned how she is going to seriously focus and get her ass in gear because her wedding is in 60 days.  And then it dawned on me- I AM IN THAT WEDDING!!! I should probably get my own ass in gear too!  I packed a healthy lunch and healthy snacks and I am going to stop making excuses and just stay more focused on what makes me feel good.  I won’t be perfect, that’s for sure.  But I can definitely try a little harder.

Have a great day friends!  xoxo

Do you like your birthday?

Does getting older bother you?

One thought on “Put Down the Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a great one. I just turned 30 last week so I had very similar feelings at first but came to terms with my age pretty quickly because now that I live a healthier lifestyle I feel younger than 5 years ago.

Leave a Reply

