Sunshine and Squats

Mother Nature finally seems to have figured out that it’s Spring.  I hope I am not speaking too soon but it’s warmed up finally in these parts.  There’s something about the warm weather that just brings out the best in people, including me.  I am happier about everything.

sunshine

Sunday was really nice out so I decided I needed to go for a run.  I went to one of my favourite routes which is just over 3 km.  I didn’t want to push it since I was still suffering from seriously sore hamstrings.  Though, the run actually helped, I find it better to just keep moving.  Part of the run is on this path that I just love running on.

so calm
so calm

The path actually was busy with lots of people out on walks with their kids and dogs.  And of course, some other runners.  I did manage to find some alone time to sneak in a selfie.

IMG_8711I realize it’s not the prettiest picture with that wrinkled forehead but it was sunny!!!  So you get the point.  It was a nice way to end the weekend for sure.  Monday was cooler out, but it didn’t stop us from running during our wod.

This week is our gym’s 5th anniversary so every day this week is the anniversary wod from a different year.  Monday was the 2010 wod and it was killer.  It combined Fran and lots of running.

800 m run

21 thrusters

21 pull ups

400 m run

15 thrusters

15 pull ups

200 m run

I managed to finish in 16:15 which isn’t too bad at all.  I used a band for the pull ups of course, and I used 55 lbs for the lifts.  I didn’t do thrusters however, because my knees don’t appreciate that, especially combined with all that running so I did push press for this one.  We had also started with strength and we did paused back squats, sets of 3 reps.  I worked to 95 lbs but after running the day before I stopped at that weight.

I felt so good after this workout there was no way I was having an unhealthy dinner so I threw together this awesome plate.

kale salad, hard boiled egg, sweet potatoes and turkey meatballs.
kale salad, hard boiled egg, sweet potatoes and turkey meatballs.

I had made these Asian inspired turkey meatballs Sunday and they have been perfect for a pre or post gym snack packed with protein and yumminess.

Tuesday was another anniversary workout and we had two wods to do.  The first was 8 minutes of 10 push press, and 10 front squats.  The kicker was if you put your bar down at all during the 8 minutes it was 5 burpees to buy back in.  I used 55lbs which I knew would be heavy but it felt awesome and strong.  I just did lots of burpees.

The second wod was an AMRAP for 15 min:

200 m run

30 squats

20 push ups

20 lunges

20 sit ups

It was soooo nice outside so I opted to do the whole wod outside.  there were three of us that stayed out and it felt so nice with a bit of  a breeze.  I loved it.  I am feeling motivated and more on track than I have in awhile.  I am crediting mother nature for that.  Let’s hope she goes with it for awhile.

Do you feel more motivated in nice weather?

Do you do workouts outside?

Leave a Reply

